You pay for your own tools
Solo engineers and bug-bounty hunters carry the license cost themselves. There is one plan and it keeps the full module set rather than crippling detection at the low end, and core scan processing stays on your machine.
Unlimited targets and scans, hosted AI and up to five devices. Nothing is held back for a higher tier, because there is no higher tier.
$250 / month excl. VAT
Prices are in USD, exclude VAT and are billed monthly. SelfSec is sold to businesses and self-employed professionals only.
Cost, confidentiality and compliance decide the tool long before the feature list does. These are the situations the plan is shaped around.
Solo engineers and bug-bounty hunters carry the license cost themselves. There is one plan and it keeps the full module set rather than crippling detection at the low end, and core scan processing stays on your machine.
Consultants work under NDA, and client URLs, evidence and reports are exactly what an assessment agreement says cannot be shared. Scanning runs locally, and flat pricing means one more client is not one more license to buy.
When a contract, a regulator or an internal policy governs where application data may travel, the deployment model decides the purchase. Core scan processing and findings stay on the host you run the scanner on.
The confirmation pass actively disagreed. The finding is kept with its evidence rather than silently dropped, so you can see what the engine decided and why.
Acunetix is now sold as Invicti Web + API; the two right-hand columns describe one vendor's two products.
| Axis | SelfSec | Burp Suite Pro | Invicti | Invicti Web + APIformerly Acunetix |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buying basis | One flat plan at a published launch price, up to five devices. Nothing is charged during pre-release. Sold to businesses and self-employed professionals only.S | $4991 · Licensed for individual users. | Start a quote2 · on every tier; the only published figure is "$500 max per pentest" | Get a quote3 · A target is defined in Invicti as a fully qualified domain name (FQDN). |
| Deployment | Runs on 127.0.0.1 on a Windows or Linux host you control.S | Local installation only.4 | SaaS, on-prem, and hybrid options5 · the pricing page lists "On-Premises (coming soon)" for Web + API | deploy Invicti on premises or as a SaaS solution6 · the pricing page lists "On-Premises (coming soon)" |
| Validation approach | A finding stays Possible until independent evidence promotes it to Confirmed; Exploited only when impact is demonstrated; Refuted findings are kept with their evidence.S | Not stated on page7 | Proven exploitability. Zero guesswork.5 | automated proof of exploit for many findings6 |
| AI role | Optional and off by default. The agent proposes the next experiment; the engine runs it and decides. Your own Anthropic or OpenAI key, Ollama on your host, or the plan's hosted AI.S | AI assistance that helps you move faster through validation, exploration, and repetitive tasks, while keeping you in control.8 | Meet Octo, the hybrid agentic pentester combining scanners and AI9 | World's best DAST, even better with AI10 |
| Trial path | Join the launch list. Today the app runs only with an active plan. Launch evaluation terms are being decided and will be stated on this row before public downloads open.S | Try Burp Suite Professional for free8 | proof-of-concept licenses so you can evaluate the platform2 | no-risk Proof of Concept licenses3 |
| Exports and CI | HTML, JSON, Markdown, SARIF 2.1.0 and a MITRE ATT&CK Navigator layer, driven by a local HTTP API. A packaged command-line runner is on the roadmap.S | Simple reporting with automated report generation7 · formats: not stated on page | 110+ out-of-the-box integrations plus a powerful API and open-source CLI5 · formats: not stated on page | Integration with CI/CD pipelines6 · formats: not stated on page |
| Data boundary | Targets, responses and the findings database stay on the scanner host. Activation sends only the device identifier and your plan; the product reports no diagnostics; a configured AI service receives the scan context the work needs.S | Automatically keep a persistent log of all your testing activities using project files7 · where data is processed: not stated on page | Not stated on page2 · hosting regions are published; which data leaves your environment is not | Not stated on page6 |
| Team model | Up to five devices under one flat price, no per-user fees. Unlimited targets and scans.S | Designed for use by individual testers.4 | Unlimited users and scans5 | supports both small teams and enterprise security programs6 |
| Product model | Hybrid agentic vulnerability scanner (DAST) that runs as a self-hosted local service. Pre-release.S | The world's #1 web penetration testing toolkit.8 | Complete AppSec in one platform.11 | Acunetix is now Invicti Web + API.10 |
“S” markers link to the SelfSec page that states the fact. This compares product models and buying paths, not detection results. Quoted text is copied from the linked page as it read on the checked date. “Not stated on page” means the linked page does not say; it does not mean the product lacks it. Vendor offerings and prices change; follow each source before purchasing.
Join the launch list to hear when public downloads open, with deployment guidance and the first production-ready release. Nothing is charged during pre-release.